Who We Are

Advisory Committees

Salzburg Global Advisory Committees

The Salzburg Global Advisory Committees provide assistance to the Board of Directors and the senior program leadership of Salzburg Global Seminar in furthering their programmatic work. Members of the Committee bring expertise, breadth of experience, and international representation that enhance Salzburg Global's ability to establish long-term goals and to meet annual program, funding, and participation objectives.



American Studies Advisory Committee

Marty Gecek

Chair, American Studies Program Advisory Committee, Austria

Lecia Brooks

Chief Workplace Transformation Officer & Chief of Staff, Southern Poverty Law Center, USA

Edith Chapin

Vice President & Executive Editor, National Public Radio News (NPR News), USA

Astrid Fellner

Chair, North American Literary and Cultural Studies, Saarland University; Vice President for Europe and International Affairs, Saarland University

Paul G. Haaga

Inaugural Chair, Oversight Board Trust, Facebook; Executive Board Chair, Penn Law Center for Ethics and the Rule of Law, USA

Reinhard Heinisch

Head, Department of Political Science, University of Salzburg; former Professor of Political Science, University of Pittsburgh (1986-2009), Austria

Martina Kohl

Martina Kohl, Cultural Affairs Specialist, U.S. Embassy in Berlin, Germany,

Sämi Ludwig

Professor at the University of Upper Alsace, France

Ana Manzanas

Associate Professor of American Literature, University of Salamanca, Spain

Elaine Tyler May

Regents Professor of American Studies and History, and Chair, Department of History, University of Minnesota

Peter Rose

Sophia Smith Professor Emeritus of Sociology and Anthropology and Senior Fellow, Kahn Liberal Arts Institute, Smith College, and Visiting Scholar, Institute for Research in the Social Sciences, Stanford University

Alex Seago

Professor of Cultural Studies at Richmond, The American International University, London, UK

Heather Sturt Haaga

Chair Emerita, Salzburg Global Seminar; Chair, African Wildlife Foundation

Mark Wenig

U.S. Foreign Service officer (FSO), retired.


The Lloyd N. Cutler Center for the Rule of Law Advisory Board

B. Thomas Mansbach

Principal, Russin & Vecchi LLP, International Legal Counselors, USA

Stephen Salyer

President & Chief Executive Officer

Mr. John B. Bellinger III

Partner, Arnold & Porter LLP; Former Legal Adviser to the US Department of State and National Security Council

Zoë Baird Budinger

President, The Markle Foundation

Stephen Breyer

Associate Justice, Supreme Court of the United States

Stuart Eizenstat

Partner, Covington & Burling LLP; former US Ambassador to the European Union

Mark Ellis

Executive Director, International Bar Association

Jonathan F. Fanton

President, American Academy of Arts and Sciences; Chairman of the Board, Scholars at Risk

Daniel R. Fung

Chairman, UNDP Peace & Development Foundation; former Vice Chair, Salzburg Global Seminar

Richard J. Goldstone

Honorary President, Human Rights Institute of the International Bar Association; former Chief Prosecutor, United Nations International Criminal Tribunals for Rwanda and the former Yugoslavia

C. Boyden Gray

Founding Partner, Boyden Gray & Associates LLP; former US Ambassador to the European Union

Paul G. Haaga

Inaugural Chair, Oversight Board Trust, Facebook; Executive Board Chair, Penn Law Center for Ethics and the Rule of Law, USA

Bianca Jagger

Founder, The Bianca Jagger Human Rights Foundation

Anthony Kennedy

Associate Justice (retired), United States Supreme Court

Harold Hongju Koh

Former US Legal Adviser; Dean, Yale Law School and the 2011 Cutler Lecturer

Anja Manuel

Managing Partner and Co-Founder, RiceHadleyGates LLC

Eva Nowotny

Former Ambassador of Austria to the US

Sandra Day O'Connor

Associate Justice (Ret.), Supreme Court of the United States

Hisashi Owada

Judge, The International Court of Justice

Deval Patrick

Managing Director, Bain Capital; Former Governor of Massachusetts

Whayne Quin

Partner, Holland & Knight

Eric Schmidt

Executive Chairman, Alphabet, Inc. and the 2014 Cutler Lecturer

Anne-Marie Slaughter

Bert G. Kerstetter '66 University Professor of Politics and International Affairs, Princeton University (Speaker)

John Smith

Partner (Retired), Covington & Burling LLP

Sonia Picado Sotela

Chair, UN Advisory Board on Human Security; former Ambassador of Costa Rica to the US

William Webster

Chairman, Homeland Security Advisory Council