Scholarship Challenge Launched at 10th Anniversary Celebration




Latest News

Print article
Aug 08, 2016
by Salzburg Global Seminar
Register for our Newsletter and stay up to date
Register now
Scholarship Challenge Launched at 10th Anniversary Celebration

Donate below to help African students attend next year's Salzburg Media Academy The 2016 Academy on Media & Global Change poses for a group photo

The 10th Salzburg Academy on Media & Global Change culminated the work of their three week-long program on the multi-media platform, Medium. Their videos, articles, and multi-media content are displayed in MOVE: Media, Migration, and the Civic Imagination. It can be found here. 

Speaking at the closing banquet of the 10th Annual Salzburg Academy on Media and Global Change, co-founders Professor Susan Moeller of the University of Maryland-College Park and Stephen Salyer, Salzburg Global Seminar President announced the creation of a $5,000 scholarship for an African student to attend the 2017 Academy session, and challenged alumni of the program to match their gift and make possible for a second scholarship to be awarded.

President Salyer said: “Everyone here knows how important diverse participation is in making this experience unlike any other in the world. If the 650 alumni of the program can each find a way to earn and make a small contribution, then extraordinary participants can join this network regardless of economic means.” Moeller added: “We hope that Jeremiah Kipainoi from Kenya, who has been such an outstanding participant this year, will help us identify and review potential scholarship recipients.”

The Salzburg Academy was founded in 2007 as a partnership between Salzburg Global Seminar and leading universities on five continents with strong journalism and communications programs. The goal is to develop ways that media can increase public understanding of global issues and to design and implement innovations that foster citizen engagement and better public policy. This year 70 students focused on the subject of “migration” during the three-week residential program at Schloss Leopoldskron in Salzburg, Austria. Examples of the work they produced can be found here. 

The residential program in Salzburg kicks off a year-long opportunity for students and faculty to collaborate on shared research and community-based projects. More than 650 students have been Salzburg Academy Fellows since 2007, and many across the world are rising into top positions in media, public policy, technology, research, teaching, and other fields. As the program extends its reach, its innovation network becomes an ever-more powerful voice for much-needed change, and for harnessing media to frame issues for possible solution.

Take a moment now to MATCH the Media Academy Founders’ gift and help us provide a second scholarship for the 2017 Salzburg Academy on Media and Global Change!

You can make a contribution of any amount. Please be sure to include “Salzburg Media Academy Scholarship Match” in the box marked “Special Instructions.”

Thank you!

Universities that have sent students to the Salzburg Academy since 2007 include: American University of Beirut (Lebanon), American University of Sharjah (UAE), Bournemouth Univeristy (England), Chinese University of Hong Kong (China), Chulalongkorn University (Thailand), Daystar University (Kenya), Emerson College (USA), Florida International University (USA), Furman University (USA), Hofstra University (USA), Iberoamericana University (Mexico), Jordan Media Institute (Jordan), Lebanese American University (Lebanon), Makerere University (Uganda), Nevada State College (USA), Polytechnic University of Namibia (Namibia), Pontificia Universidad Catolica (Argentina), Pontificia Universidad Catolica (Chile), Quaid-i-Azam University (Pakistan), Southwest University of Political Science and Law (China), Stellenbosch University (Republic of South Africa), Tsinghua University (China), University of Colorado (Boulder), University of Maryland (USA), University of Miami (USA), University of Nairobi (Kenya), University of Southern California (USC), University of St. Cyril and Methodius, Trnava (Slovakia), University of Texas (USA), Zayed University (UAE).