These faculty will lead the 2019 Media Academy

Paul Mihailidis

Program Director, Salzburg Academy on Media and Global Change

Susan Moeller

Susan Moeller, Director of the International Center for Media & the Public Agenda and Professor, College of Journalism and the School of Public Policy, University of Maryland.

Sanjeev Chatterjee

Professor of Cinema and Interactive Media, University of Miami, Florida, USA

Roman Gerodimos

Associate Professor of Global Current Affairs, Bournemouth University

Eric Gordon

Professor, Department of Visual and Media Arts, Emerson College, USA

Manuel Guerrero Martinez

Director, Department of Communication, Universidad Iberoamericana, Mexico

Claudia Kozman

Assistant Professor of Multimedia Journalism, Lebanese American University, Lebanon

Pablo Martinez Zarate

Head Professor, Documentary Film & Digital Narrative, Iberoamericana University, Mexico

Jad Melki

Associate Professor of Journalism and Media Studies and Director of the Institute of Media Research and Training, Lebanese American University, Lebanon

Stephen Reese

Jesse H. Jones Professor of Journalism, Moody College of Communication, The University of Texas at Austin, USA

Stephen Salyer

President & Chief Executive Officer

Clare Shine

Director, Cambridge Institute for Sustainability Leadership (CISL),

Sangita Shresthova

Director of Research, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, USA

Megan Fromm

Journalism Teacher and Educational Initiatives Director for the Journalism Education Association, Colorado, USA

Christopher Harris

Associate Professor of Communication, Department Chair for Social Sciences and Business, Nevada State College, USA

Bobbie Foster

University of Maryland, USA

Leonard Apcar

Switzer Endowed Chair, Louisiana State University's Manship School of Mass Communication, USA

Allan Au

Knight Fellow, Stanford University, USA; Professional Consultant of the School of Journalism and Communication, the Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong SAR


These scholars have previously taken part in the Media Academy

Richard Goldstone

Honorary President, Human Rights Institute of the International Bar Association; former Chief Prosecutor, United Nations International Criminal Tribunals for Rwanda and the former Yugoslavia

Bianca Jagger

Founder, The Bianca Jagger Human Rights Foundation

Henry Jenkins

Professor of Communication, University of Southern California, USA

Anthony Kennedy

Associate Justice (retired), United States Supreme Court

Charles Sennott

Executive Editor, Vice President and Co-Founder of GlobalPost

William Dobson

Coeditor, Journal of Democracy


Director, BBC Monitoring, UK

Martin Weiss

Austrian Ambassador to the US, Austrian Embassy

Maya Morsy

Regional Gender Team Leader, UNDP Regional Bureau of Arab States, Egypt

Ivan Sigal

Executive Director, Global Voices, the Netherlands

Dana Priest


Lucy Dalglish

Dean, Phillip Merrill College of Journalism, University of Maryland, USA

Adam Pool

Chief Executive Officer, Continental Wind Partners

Georg Hobmeir

Co-founder, Causa Creations, Germany

Brandon Oelofse

Manager and Senior Trainer, RNTC, Netherlands

Martin Riedl

Visiting Fellow, Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society, Germany

Aaron Reese

Political Risk and Security Analyst, Reese Global Consulting LLC, USA

Amish Desai

Head of MEMS Research, Tanner Research, Inc., USA

Daniela Rea

Journalist, Red de Periodistas de a Pie

Naja Nielsen

Digital Director of BBC News, UK

Michael Forsman

Associate Professor, Media and Communication Studies, Södertörn University

Ryan Broderick

Deputy Global News Director, BuzzFeed News, UK

Katherine Reese

Independent Scholar, Reese Global Consulting LLC, USA

Daniel Russell

Senior Research Scientist, Google, USA

Rossalyn Warren