Salzburg Cutler Faculty

Since 2012, the Salzburg Cutler Fellows Program has helped outstanding law students from the top US law schools explore timely legal issues and develop leadership skills and connections needed to forge careers in international law to shape a better world. 

Each Fellow prepares and presents a research paper on a topic of private or public international law. Some of the top law faculty in the US offer advice on how to make their argument more effective and how to succeed in getting papers accepted by journals in across the world. In parallel, lawyers and other mentors in public service help Fellows explore traditional and non-traditional pathways to careers in international law and public service that can align passion and personal impact. Each year's program also includes several keynote speakers who share insights from their own career in international law.

Faculty Advisors
Knowledge Cafe Mentors

Faculty Advisors

The following academics have accompanied the participating law schools, leading workshops and offering feedback and advice on Fellows' papers.

Daniel Abebe


Muneer Ahmad

Clinical Professor of Law, Yale Law

Jose Alvarez

Herbert and Rose Rubin Professor of International Law, NYU Law

Curtis Bradley

William Van Alstyne Professor of Law; Professor of Policy Studies, Duke Law School

Rachel Brewster

Professor of Law, Duke Law

Chris Brummer

Agnes N. Williams Research Professor; Faculty Director, Institute of International Economic Law; Professor of Law, Georgetown University Law Center

William Burke-White

Richard Perry Professor; Inaugural Director, Perry World House; Professor of Law, Penn Law School

Adam Chilton

Assistant Professor of Law; Walter Mander Research Scholar, University of Chicago Law School

Kristina Daugirdas

Professor of Law, Michigan Law

Rangita de Silva de Alwis

Associate Dean of International Affairs at the University of Pennsylvania Law School

Ashley Deeks

Professor of Law, University of Virginia Law School

Claudia Flores

Associate Clinical Professor of Law, Director, International Human Rights Clinic, Universitz of Chicago Law

Amy Gadsden

Associate Dean for International and Strategic Initiatives at the University of Pennsylvania Law School

Tom Ginsburg

Leo Spitz Professor of International Law, University of Chicago

Ryan Goodman

Anne and Joel Ehrenkranz Professor of Law and Co-Chair of the Center for Human Rights and Global Justice at NYU Law School, New York, NY

Laurence Helfer

Harry R. Chadwick, Sr. Professor of Law, Duke Law

Jayne Huckerby

Clinical Professor of Law; Director of the Duke International Human Rights Clinic, Duke Law

Paul Kahn

Robert W. Winner Professor of Law and the Humanities; Director of the Orville H. Schell, Jr. Center for Human Rights; Yale Law School

Benedict Kingsbury

Vice Dean; Murry and Ida Becker Professor of Law; Director, Institute for International Law and Justice, NYU Law

Sara Lulo


Catharine MacKinnon

Elizabeth A. Long Professor of Law, Michigan Law

Jenny Martinez

Professor, Stanford Law School

Julian Mortenson

Professor of Law, Michigan Law

Steven Ratner

Bruno Simma Collegiate Professor of Law, Michigan Law School

W. Michael Reisman

Myres S. McDougal Professor of International Law, Yale Law School, New Haven, CT

Mindy Roseman

Director of International Law Programs; Director, Gruber Program for Global Justice and Women's Rights, Yale Law

James Silk

Binger Clinical Professor of Human Rights, Yale Law School

Paul Stephan

John C. Jeffries, Jr. Distinguished Professor of Law; John V. Ray Research Professor of Law; Director, Graduate Studies Program, Virginia Law

David Stewart

Co-Director, Global Law Scholars Program; Co-Director, Center on Transnational Business and the Law, Professor from Practice, Georgetown Law

Thomas Streinz

Executive Director of Guarini Global Law & Tech; Fellow at the Institute for International Law and Justice; Adjunct Professor of Law, NYU School of Law

Alan Sykes

Professor of Law, Stanford Law

Jeanne Tai

Assistant Dean for the Graduate Program and International Legal Studies, Harvard Law

Pierre-Hugues Verdier

Professor of Law, University of Virginia Law School

Matthew Waxman

Liviu Librescu Professor of Law; Faculty Chair, National Security Law Program, Columbia Law School

Allen Weiner

Director, Stanford Program in International and Comparative Law; Co-Director, Stanford Center on International Conflict and Negotiation

Alex Whiting

Professor of Practice, Harvard Law

Mark Wu

Henry L. Stimson Professor of Law, Harvard Law School


Each year's programs includes keynote speakers.

Jim Bacchus

Chair, World Economic Forum's Global Agenda Council on Governance for Sustainability; Chair of the Global Practice, Greenberg Traurig, Washington, DC; Former Chair, Appellate Body, WTO and former US Congressman

John Bellinger III

Partner, Arnold & Porter LLP; Former Legal Adviser to the US Department of State and National Security Council

Wendy Cutler

Vice President, Asia Society Policy Institute

Mary DeRosa

former Deputy Assistant and Deputy Counsel to the President; former National Security Council Legal Advisor; Alternate Representative of the United States to the 66th Session of the UN General Assembly; Distinguished Visitor from Practice and Co-Director

William Dobson

Coeditor, Journal of Democracy

Jared Genser

Managing Director, Perseus Strategies; Founder, Freedom Now

Kristalina Georgieva

Chief Executive Officer, World Bank

C. Boyden Gray

Founding Partner, Boyden Gray & Associates LLP; former US Ambassador to the European Union

Peter Harrell

Deputy Assistant Secretary for Counter Threat Finance and Sanctions, Bureau of Economic and Business Affairs, U.S. Department of State

Eveline Herfkens

Visiting Scholar at the Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International Studies and a Senior Fellow at the Center for Transatlantic relations, former Minister for Development Cooperation of the Netherlands, former member of the Board of Executive Directors

Adam Liptak

Supreme Court correspondent for The New York Times

Leonard McCarthy

Vice-President for Integrity, The World Bank

Juan Méndez

UN Special Rapporteur on Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman and Degrading Treatment or Punishment; former Special Advisor to the Prosecutor of the International Criminal Court

Nicola Port

Senior Vice President & Associate General Counsel, ACE Group

Kathryn Ruemmler

Partner, Latham & Watkins LLP

Ivan Simonovic

Secretary-General's Special Adviser on the Responsibility to Protect, United Nations

Heath Tarbert

Acting Under Secretary, U.S. Department Treasury for International Affairs

Diane Wood

Chief United States Circuit Judge, United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit