Past Program

Nov 04, 2013

The Fourth Annual Lloyd N. Cutler Lecture on the Rule of Law: "The Magna Carta"


On November 4, 2013, Justice Stephen G. Breyer, Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States, held the Fourth Lloyd N. Cutler Lecture, followed by a conversation, moderated by Adam Liptak, Supreme Court correspondent at The New York Times. The event, hosted by Justice Sandra Day O'Conner (ret.), was held at the Phillips Collection in Washington, D.C.

Justice Stephen G. Breyer

Justice Stephen G. Breyer was born August 15, 1938, in San Francisco. He was graduated from Stanford University in 1959 and traveled to Oxford University on a Marshall Scholarship where he received a B.A. from Magdalen College in 1961. Breyer earned an LL.B from Harvard Law School in 1964. He served as a law clerk for Associate Justice Arthur J. Goldberg of the U.S. Supreme Court during the 1964 Term. From 1965 to 1967 Breyer worked in the U.S. Department of Justice as a special assistant to the Assistant U.S. Attorney for Antitrust, Donald F. Turner. In 1967 Breyer began his academic career at Harvard Law School, where he taught until 1994. He also taught at the Harvard University Kennedy School of Government from 1977-1980. In 1973 Breyer returned to Washington, D.C., as an assistant special prosecutor in the Watergate investigation. He stayed on for the following two years as special counsel to the Administrative Practices Subcommittee of the Senate Judiciary Committee. In 1979 he served for two years as chief counsel of the Senate Judiciary Committee. President Jimmy Carter appointed Breyer to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the First Circuit in 1980 and he became its Chief Judge in 1990. He served as a member of the U.S. Sentencing Commission from 1985-1989. The following year Breyer became a member of the Judicial Conference of the United States. On May 14, 1994, President Bill Clinton nominated Breyer Associate Justice of the Supreme Court. He took the oath of office on August 3, 1994.

About Lloyd N. Cutler

Lloyd N. Cutler (1917-2005), who has been described as the last "super lawyer," had a brilliant legal career. A founder of the Washington, DC law firm, Wilmer Cutler & Pickering, and White House Counsel to two US presidents, he fulfilled the calling of a public servant over his lifetime. He was a long-time champion of Salzburg Global Seminar and a friend and colleague to many of the distinguished jurists, attorneys and policymakers whom he encouraged to attend its sessions.

For almost 30 years, Cutler played a central role in guiding Salzburg Global Seminar, serving as board chairman from 1984 to 1994, and as the visionary who helped broaden the focus of Salzburg Global's distinguished series of law sessions.

As a lasting tribute to the Cutler legacy, Salzburg Global Seminar has established the Lloyd N. Cutler Center for the Rule of Law whose mission is threefold: 

  1. To seek solutions to global problems in areas where the law is inadequate or unfolding
  2. To advance the role of independent judiciaries globally and promote universal access to justice
  3. To employ innovative methods to engage new audiences and raise awareness of legal principles and why they matter.

Lloyd Cutler's influence on both people and institutions is felt thoughout the United States and around the world. In his tradition and his name, Salzburg Global Seminar continues to advance the Rule of Law through the Lloyd N. Cutler Center with the Salzburg Cutler Fellows Program and the Annual Lloyd N. Cutler Lecture.

To learn more about the Lloyd N. Cutler Center, please contact:

Advisory Board

B. Thomas Mansbach, Chair
Bailey Morris-Eck, Co-Chair
Stephen L. Salyer, President, Salzburg Global Seminar

Zoƫ Baird
Justice Stephen G. Breyer
Mark Ellis
Jonathan Fanton
Richard N. Gardner
Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg
Richard Goldstone
C. Boyden Gray
Bianca Jagger
Justice Anthony Kennedy
Eva Nowotny
Justice Sandra Day O'Connor (ret.)
Hisashi Owada
Deval Patrick
Peter Peterson
Whayne Quin
Alice Rivlin
John Thomas Smith, II
Sonia Picado Sotela
Paul Volcker
William H. Webster
James D. Wolfensohn