Salzburg Cutler Fellows

Salzburg Cutler Fellows Program

The Salzburg Cutler Fellows series develops outstanding talents who will shape the future of the international rules-based order and government and judicial systems. Since 2012, it has convened annual cohorts of graduate students from 14 top US law schools to build leadership skills and networks across law and public service worldwide.

The Salzburg Cutler Fellows series is a one-of-a-kind program for students interested in international law and legal practice. Launched in the fall of 2012, the Salzburg Cutler Fellows Program was named in memory of Lloyd N. Cutler, former White House Counsel for two presidents and Chairman of the Board of Salzburg Global Seminar. Cutler strongly believed that one of the keys to progress was the early identifying and mentoring of young leaders with a yearning to make the world a better place through law and the rule of law.

The Salzburg Cutler Fellows Program convenes 56 students nominated by their law schools along with leading judges and practitioners for a highly interactive exploration of leading edge issues in international law, covering international human rights and humanitarian law; national security; international courts; rule of law; and international finance, monetary, and trade law. Guided by lawyers from a range of traditional and non-traditional areas, including some of the top international law firms in the US, the Salzburg Cutler Fellows receive advice on how to determine career goals, manage career trajectories, identify the jobs beyond the first horizon of job seeking post-law school, and how to expand and utilize professional networks. In addition to these high-level workshops, students receive feedback on their own original research and writing on topics concerning the development of both public and private international law. Salzburg Cutler Fellows automatically become members of the Salzburg Global Fellowship and its international network.

The Salzburg Cutler Fellows Program is currently open to students from the following 14 US law schools: Berkeley, Chicago, Columbia, Cornell, Duke, Georgetown, Harvard, Michigan, New York University, Northwestern, Penn, Stanford, Virginia, and Yale.